In this guide · 7 sections
- 01Which plan unlocks multi-currency
- 02What multi-currency actually does in the software
- 03GST: what IRAS expects for foreign currency transactions
- 04Foreign currency bank feeds: Airwallex, Wise and your bank
- 05Choosing between them for a Singapore business
- 06Do it yourself or get help?
- 07Frequently asked questions
Short answer
Xero needs Premium (S$95 a month, S$99 from 1 November 2026). QuickBooks Online needs Essentials or higher (from S$57 a month). Zoho Books includes multi-currency from Standard (S$15 a month billed yearly). All three track realised and unrealised exchange gains and losses.
Which plan unlocks multi-currency
Each vendor puts multi-currency on a different tier, so the cheapest plan that fits your size may not be the one you need.
Xero
Premium onlyS$95/mo (S$99 from 1 Nov 2026)
- Starter (S$39) and Standard (S$70) have no multi-currency
- Rates from XE.com updated hourly
- Realised and unrealised gains reports
- Prices include GST
Best for: Businesses already on Xero with regular foreign currency invoices.
QuickBooks Online
Essentials and upFrom S$57/mo
- Not on Simple Start (S$31)
- Plus S$78.99, Advanced S$124
- Cannot be switched off once on
- Home currency cannot change after
Best for: Teams of 3 or more needing multi-currency on a mid plan.
Zoho Books
Standard and upS$15/mo billed yearly
- S$18 billed monthly
- Automatic exchange rate feeds
- Realised gain or loss report
- Prices exclude GST
Best for: Cost-conscious businesses with moderate foreign currency volume.
Prices from Xero, QuickBooks and Zoho Books Singapore pricing pages on 21 October 2026, list prices without introductory discounts. Xero's price update page lists Starter, Standard and Premium at S$42, S$77 and S$99 from 1 November 2026. For a wider comparison see Xero vs QuickBooks in Singapore.
What multi-currency actually does in the software
Without multi-currency, you can only record a USD invoice by converting it to SGD yourself, and the books cannot track what the customer still owes in dollars. With it, the software does several jobs for you.
- Invoices, bills and quotes in the foreign currency, with the SGD equivalent stored at the transaction date's rate. Xero's help says it supports more than 160 currencies.
- Foreign currency bank accounts, so a USD account at your bank, Airwallex or Wise can be reconciled in USD.
- Realised gains and losses when an invoice is paid at a different rate from the one it was raised at. Xero journals these automatically at the time of payment.
- Unrealised gains and losses on invoices and bills still outstanding, revalued at the reporting date.
- Reports in SGD for your accounts and tax, with the foreign currency detail kept underneath.
GST: what IRAS expects for foreign currency transactions
Software handles the arithmetic, but the GST rules decide which rate and which box. IRAS's page on foreign currency transactions sets them out.
| Item | IRAS rule (October 2026) |
|---|---|
| Foreign currency sales | Convert the amounts on the tax invoice to SGD using an approved exchange rate; report in Box 1 and Box 6 |
| Approved rate sources | Local banks, MAS, local newspapers, Bloomberg, Reuters, Oanda; websites such as xe.com if they draw on those sources |
| Purchases | Use the supplier's converted SGD amounts on its tax invoice; imports use the SGD amounts on the import permit |
| Realised exchange gains or losses | A supply for GST: report the net amount for the period as an absolute value in Box 3 |
| Unrealised gains or losses and year-end translation | Not reported (unless using IRAS's alternative method) |
Choose one rate source, use it consistently, and make sure your software's realised gains account can be reported per GST period.
Foreign currency bank feeds: Airwallex, Wise and your bank
Multi-currency accounts from Airwallex and Wise are common for businesses selling overseas; our Airwallex vs Aspire vs Wise comparison covers the accounts themselves. Connecting them to your books works like this:
- Airwallex to Xero: Airwallex's help centre says it syncs transactions to Xero every hour and creates a separate Xero bank account for each wallet currency, because a Xero bank account holds one currency. Syncing several currencies needs a Xero plan with multi-currency.
- Wise to Xero: Wise's help page says each Wise currency is connected to a matching Xero bank account, and you need a Xero plan that supports multi-currency.
- Local bank USD accounts: check whether your bank offers a direct feed for the foreign currency account; if not, import statements in the bank's file format.
Treat each currency balance as its own bank account in your books. Transfers between your SGD and USD balances are transfers, not income or expenses; the difference between the two sides is an exchange gain or loss. Our bank reconciliation explainer covers how feeds and matching work.
Choosing between them for a Singapore business
| Situation | Usually fits |
|---|---|
| Already on Xero, a few USD invoices a month | Upgrade to Xero Premium, or keep Standard and convert manually if volume is very low |
| Small team, many currencies, tight budget | Zoho Books Standard or Professional |
| 3 to 5 users who want QuickBooks | QuickBooks Essentials or Plus |
| Selling on overseas marketplaces with payouts in several currencies | Any of the three, plus a payout sync tool so fees and FX are split out |
Do it yourself or get help?
Turning on multi-currency is a few clicks, but the setup choices are hard to undo: the home currency, which accounts hold which currency, and how transfers between currencies are coded. Agree them with your accountant before the first foreign invoice.
Our Accounting Software Setup (S$490) sets up Xero, QuickBooks Online or Zoho Books in your name, with bank feeds, branded invoices and quotes, user access and your accountant invited, including foreign currency accounts where your plan supports them. IT Sorted is a Singapore-based team of developers with over 10 years of experience; you pay upfront, send the brief in writing and follow progress on your order page. We set up the software; your accountant remains responsible for the accounts and GST returns.
Frequently asked questions
Only Xero Premium, which costs S$95 a month including GST as of October 2026 and rises to S$99 from 1 November 2026. Starter and Standard are single-currency. Premium handles invoices, bills and bank accounts in foreign currencies, with exchange rates from XE.com and gain and loss reports.
No. QuickBooks' help says once multi-currency is switched on it cannot be turned off, and the home currency can no longer be changed. It is available on Essentials, Plus and Advanced, not Simple Start. Check your home currency and speak to your accountant first.
Not in the free plan. Zoho Books' Singapore pricing lists recording multi-currency transactions from the Standard plan, at S$15 per organisation per month billed yearly or S$18 billed monthly, excluding GST, as of October 2026. Standard also adds bank feeds and three users.
IRAS treats realised exchange gains or losses from completed foreign currency transactions as a supply. Calculate the net realised amount for each GST period and report its absolute value in Box 3. Unrealised gains and year-end translation differences are not reported, unless you use IRAS's alternative method.
For foreign currency balances, yes. Airwallex creates a Xero bank feed for each currency balance, and Wise connects each currency to a matching Xero bank account. Both say you need a Xero plan that supports multi-currency, which in Singapore means Premium.