Skip to content
itsorted.online
Grants guide

IMDA, Grab and RSM Programmes for 12,000 SMEs: AI and Cyber Help

On 21 May 2026, IMDA added Grab and RSM Stone Forest IT as partners in its Digital Enterprise Blueprint, with two programmes aimed at 12,000 SMEs. Grab's covers AI training for food and beverage, e-commerce and retail businesses. RSM's offers a free phishing simulation for up to 30 employees, plus a report and a short advisory call. This guide sets out exactly what IMDA's factsheet and the SMEs Go Digital sign-up page say each programme gives you, who qualifies, what it costs, and how it fits with the rest of your security and AI plans.

By IT Sorted teamReviewed 7 min readHow we write guides
in

Key takeaways

  • IMDA announced both partnerships on 21 May 2026 under the Digital Enterprise Blueprint.
  • Grab aims to reach 10,000 F&B, e-commerce and retail SMEs with AI training through GrabAcademy.
  • RSM offers a free phishing simulation to up to 2,000 SMEs, covering up to 30 employees each.
  • RSM's services are free to local SMEs with a valid UEN and at least 30% local shareholding.
  • Sign up for the phishing exercise on IMDA's SMEs Go Digital website.
In this guide · 7 sections
  1. 01What IMDA announced on 21 May 2026
  2. 02The Grab AI Programme for SMEs: what you get
  3. 03The RSM Cyber2SME phishing simulation: what you get
  4. 04Who qualifies
  5. 05Before you run a phishing simulation
  6. 06Do it yourself or get help?
  7. 07Frequently asked questions

Short answer

The Grab AI Programme for SMEs gives F&B, e-commerce and retail SMEs free AI training videos, masterclasses and webinars, plus a two-day course with SUTD. The RSM Cyber2SME programme gives eligible local SMEs a free one-time phishing simulation for up to 30 staff, a report and a 30-minute advisory session.

What IMDA announced on 21 May 2026

IMDA's factsheet of 21 May 2026 welcomed Grab and RSM Stone Forest IT as new partners in the Digital Enterprise Blueprint (DEB). IMDA says the DEB has helped more than 26,000 enterprises since May 2024 and targets 50,000 SMEs by 2029. The two new programmes together aim to reach 12,000 more SMEs.

Grab AI Programme for SMEs

AI

Training videos, masterclasses and webinars are complimentary

  • For F&B, e-commerce and retail SMEs
  • Target: 10,000 SMEs
  • Run through GrabAcademy
  • Two-day AI course co-developed with SUTD
  • Follow-up help choosing IMDA pre-approved AI solutions

Best for: Owners who want to understand where AI fits before buying a tool.

RSM Cyber2SME Programme

Cybersecurity

Free to eligible local SMEs

  • One-time phishing simulation
  • Up to 30 employees per company
  • Performance report with click-through data
  • 30-minute one-to-one advisory call
  • Up to 2,000 SMEs; webinars and tabletop exercises for up to 1,000

Best for: Any office team that handles email, invoices and payments.

DEB now has 15 industry partners, including AWS, DBS, Google, Microsoft and Singtel. Programmes announced later, such as those at SMEs Go Digital Day in October, are covered in our guide to IMDA's October 2026 AI support for SMEs.

The Grab AI Programme for SMEs: what you get

According to IMDA, the programme is facilitated through GrabAcademy, Grab's training arm for its partners. It is aimed at food and beverage, e-commerce and retail SMEs, and Grab plans to reach them through its merchant network, digital channels and events.

  • Free online training videos on practical AI use cases for F&B, e-commerce and retail.
  • Complimentary masterclasses and webinars, co-curated with IMDA, covering AI basics, use cases and government support schemes.
  • A two-day course, 'From AI Awareness to Business Advantage: A Practical Roadmap', co-developed with SUTD, which ends with an AI roadmap for your business.
  • Follow-up support from Grab and IMDA pre-approved AI solution providers to identify suitable solutions.

The follow-up step leads to IMDA's pre-approved solutions, which can carry grant support. That is useful, but remember that a vendor helping you 'identify' a solution is also selling it. Our guide to the national AI strategy update for SMEs covers the wider grant picture.

The RSM Cyber2SME phishing simulation: what you get

RSM's offer is more concrete. The SMEs Go Digital programme page lists exactly what is included and how long it takes, about one month from sign-up.

  1. Sign up on SMEs Go Digital

    Complete the sign-up form on the programme page. You receive a confirmation email once accepted.

  2. Onboard within 7 days

    RSM's team emails onboarding steps the same business day. Complete them within 7 days to start.

  3. Test email delivery

    RSM first sends a system email to make sure its messages reach your inbox and are not blocked.

  4. Two-week phishing campaign

    Each of up to 30 employees receives one mock phishing email at a different time, tailored to the company and role.

  5. Report and advisory call

    You receive a report with click-through data and recommendations, then book a free 30-minute online session with RSM practitioners.

RSM is a commercial consultancy that also sells cybersecurity services. The advisory call is a reasonable place to get a second opinion, but you are not obliged to buy anything that follows from it.

Who qualifies

The RSM programme page defines eligibility clearly. The Grab programme is described by sector rather than by a formal test.

QuestionGrab AI ProgrammeRSM Cyber2SME
SectorF&B, e-commerce, retailAny sector
Company testNot stated in the factsheetLocal SME: at least 30% local shareholding, and group turnover up to S$100m or up to 200 staff
UENNot statedValid UEN; each UEN may apply separately
CostVideos, masterclasses and webinars complimentary; course fee not statedNo charge to eligible local SMEs
Capacity10,000 SMEs (target)2,000 SMEs for the simulation
Sources: IMDA factsheet of 21 May 2026 and SMEs Go Digital RSM Cyber2SME page, checked 21 October 2026.

Questions about either programme can go to IMDA at SMEGD_Partnership@imda.gov.sg, the contact listed on the SMEs Go Digital page.

Before you run a phishing simulation

A simulation tells you who clicks. It does not stop the next real attack by itself. IMDA's factsheet cites Singapore Police Force figures of S$35.3 million lost to business email compromise scams across 377 cases in 2025, which is why the follow-up matters more than the test.

Make the free test count

Our guide to phishing simulations for small businesses covers how to run repeat tests after the free one, and where to start with cybersecurity puts it in order with the other basics.

Do it yourself or get help?

Both programmes are worth signing up for if you qualify: they cost nothing in money and little in time. Neither changes your actual settings. The phishing report tells you about people; it does not check whether your Microsoft 365 or Google Workspace has MFA enforced, whether old admin accounts are still active, or whether your domain can be spoofed.

Our Security Health Check (S$290) reviews your domain, website, email and workspace settings and gives you a plain-English report ranked by risk, with a fix list you can do yourself. If the Grab course points you towards a customer-facing AI assistant, our AI Website Assistant (S$790) is trained on your own website and FAQ, with hand-over to WhatsApp or email. IT Sorted is a Singapore-based team of developers with over 10 years of experience; you pay upfront, send the brief in writing and follow progress on your order page.

Frequently asked questions

Yes, for eligible SMEs. The SMEs Go Digital page says all the services are provided at no charge to eligible local SMEs in Singapore with a valid UEN. That covers a one-time simulation for up to 30 employees, a performance report and a 30-minute online advisory session. Places are limited to 2,000 SMEs.

IMDA's factsheet does not say so. It describes the programme as aimed at food and beverage, e-commerce and retail SMEs, reached through Grab's merchant network, digital channels and events, and run through GrabAcademy. Check the registration details for any eligibility conditions before signing up.

The programme page defines a local SME as a company with at least 30% local shareholding held by Singaporeans or PRs, and group annual sales turnover not exceeding S$100 million or group employment not exceeding 200 employees. Each company with a different UEN can apply separately if it meets the criteria.

About one month from sign-up. RSM sends onboarding steps the same business day, which you complete within 7 days. After a delivery test, the campaign runs for about two weeks, with each employee receiving one mock phishing email. You then get the report and can book the advisory session.

It is a government initiative launched in May 2024 to help SMEs adopt digital tools, with IMDA working through industry partners such as AWS, DBS, Google, Microsoft and Singtel. IMDA says it has helped over 26,000 enterprises so far, with a target of 50,000 SMEs by 2029.

Rather have it done for you?

Fixed price, set up in your own accounts.

Order online, get a written scope, and keep full ownership of everything we set up. Questions first? Ask us in writing.